Fedora Council election results

The votes are in! Two seats were open on the newly formed Fedora Council, and we had five candidates to fill them. The new Fedora Council members are Rex Dieter and Langdon White.

Matthew Miller sent out the election results quickly after the election ended on 26 November at 00:00 UTC.

The election was held from 18 November to 26 November, and 192 Fedora contributors voted. (The June 2013 Fedora Board election had 157 voters, and the December 2012 election had 202 voters.)

From the announcement email, here’s the breakdown of votes:

Rex Dieter       638
Langdon White    486
Pete Travis      436
Haïkel Guémar    413
Michael Scherer  399

Number of voters    192
Number of votes     674
Maximum of votes    960

           voters per candidate / votes per candidate
Rex Dieter      159    /   4.01257861635
Langdon White   136    /   3.57352941176

Pete Travis     127    /    3.43307086614
Haïkel Guémar   130    /    3.17692307692
Michael Scherer 122    /    3.27049180328

Note that the Fedora Project uses Range Voting, so voters can split their vote to show their level of preference for each candidate, rather than simple “first-past-the-post” voting.

You can read the interviews with Rex and Langdon from earlier this month.

Congratulations to the winners, and thanks to all of the candidates for their work on Fedora and interest in helping to improve the project. Thanks also to all the contributors who voted.

Fedora Project community


  1. There was a 0-5 point scale, and 192 voters, so the “maximum number of votes” (960) was actually the “maximum number of points”.

    “voters per candidate” seems to be the number of voters who gave that candidate a non-zero score. Meaning that “votes per candidate” is actually “points per non-zero voter for that candidate”.

    If this is correct, it’s very interesting. It means that 62.5% of voters gave better than a zero to the last place candidate. And 82.8% of voters gave better than a zero to the winner.

Comments are Closed

The opinions expressed on this website are those of each author, not of the author's employer or of Red Hat. Fedora Magazine aspires to publish all content under a Creative Commons license but may not be able to do so in all cases. You are responsible for ensuring that you have the necessary permission to reuse any work on this site. The Fedora logo is a trademark of Red Hat, Inc. Terms and Conditions